all the colors

January 17, 2008

Guild Rat

Filed under: books,friends,my world,quilt guilds — Kathy @ 11:11 pm
Tags: , , , ,

I belong to two different quilt guilds in my area. They are different in format and have different members and I enjoy them both a ton. I had to miss the first one this month because I woke up with a migraine on that day, and that’s the only thing that can keep me from going is if I’m so ill I can’t move. Today was the other guild’s meeting. Every month in this guild someone gets up and tells about themselves using a gift basket they have put together with things that represent themselves. Last month Annette Rose, who works at Stylish Fabrics-Bernina in Logan, Utah put together the greatest basket full of fun things, which she graciously gave to me. Check out this pillow that Annette made, with the crocheted decoration on the pocket. Amazing!

Reminder pocket pillow
The pockets hold reminders, of course, and the cutest notepad in the shape of a dress.

So this month it was my turn to assemble some stuff. This is what I put in the basket, and what it represents about me:

Spotlight basket
  • The children’s book, Mama, Do You Love Me–I was born in Alaska and I love children’s books
  • A magnet about sisters–I have 6 sisters and no brothers
  • A green vintage wall pocket, so cute!–I’ve had a bit of an obsession with the color green on and off throughout my life. I must have been an annoying child when I insisted on using the green bath towell and the green dinner plate!
  • Four fat quarters, two pink and two blue–I have two daughters and two sons
  • A book, “What Dogs Teach Us” –I love dogs and currently have a golden retriever
  • A cat book marker–I also have a cat
  • A package of bookplates–I love to read and love books
  • A little vintage framed embroidery piece–I love antiques, especially quilts and needlework
  • Some perfume and lotion samples–I always wear perfume
  • A CD, All the Roadrunning by Mark Knoepfler and Emmy Lou Harris–I love music and this is a current favorite
  • A package of quilt tape for marking rulers–I love everything about quilting and am a notions junkie
  • A home magazine–my life right now is building my home
  • A car air freshener in the fragrance of “sun and sand”–I lived in Southern California for 20 years
  • A small can of Almond Roca–I could eat this for breakfast, lunch and dinner
  • Two small bottles of juice, Martinelli’s sparkling cider and cranberry–two of my favorite drinks
  • A quilt book–I bought this book for myself and then a few months later I bought this book for myself again. I’m absent minded!
  • A book on the history of the Utah Quilt Guild–I’m an area rep for this organization
  • Two movie passes–I love to go to movies and love to watch my Netflix movies too
  • An Apple sticker and the url of this blog–I’m crazy about my new Macbook and this here is my blog

Here are the nice ladies in the guild. I enjoy them so much!
Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

